Black-ish (from a white person’s prospective)

Disclaimer: Several weeks ago, I was working on this post when another Black-ish post was written. This caused me to delay my post until I had time to see if I had anything else to add to the argument. 

In the first few minutes of watching the show, I experienced the discomfort of being an outsider when I was alone in my room. I always imagined these experiences would only stem from rare moments of being the minority in a large group of people. This gave me another way to think about the permanence of my belonging based on skin color. 

Further, the basis of the show, which follows a wealthy black family as they work to understand themselves in a predominately white society, creates a space for commentary on societal issues that a show like Modern Family could never achieve. In a forty-five second scene, the show comments on how older generations struggle to connect across racial lines, how society connects black people with violence, and how stereotypical rich white people have a societally accepted standard which, frankly, does not promote respectable morals, all the while maintaining a comic approach. Thus, I would highly suggest that all people watch at least the first episode, though I doubt you’ll want to stop once you do. 

One thought on “Black-ish (from a white person’s prospective)

  1. This show is so good! There was an episode where one of the kids gets suspended from school for using the N-word, and so the entire episode was basically them debating on who should/should not be allowed to say it, or if anyone should be allowed at all. I agree that its setting and character choices allow it to become a show which is not only funny, but also educational.
    (I’m also very relieved, if I might add, that other people my age also watch this show)

    Like

Leave a Reply

